Trying Something New

Standard

“Just try it,” parents always say. “How do you know you don’t like it unless you at least try it?” Parents are big on new things aren’t they? Especially new foods – but everyone is most comfortable with what they know and like already. I am guilty of this myself, encouraging my children to try something new when I tend to eat the same lunches, take the same route home, etc. But last week I did something different. I went to my very first writing conference, the Pacific Northwest Writer’s Conference, in Seattle. I decided to “just try it.”

More often than not, the “tryer” responds with something non-committal, such as “it’s okay”. But every now and then, something amazing happens and a whole new world opens up. A world you had never known existed. I am happy to say that this is what happened to me. Not only did I learn many, many things, I also met some very amazing people. To top it all off, I was fortunate enough to walk away with First Prize, in the category of Children’s Chapter Books, for my manuscript partial The Red Carpet Detective Agency – Case #1 The Victorian with a Secret.

It is my goal to not only write great stories, but to create interactive digital experiences to accompany them. Things are changing in the publishing industry. Agents and publishers are being encouraged to “just try it”, and create more digital products.  Let’s jump in together, the water’s fine! 🙂

Speaking of digital products – the Barnes & Noble Back to School promotion is on:

Buy any NOOK and get over $100 in FREE classics and study guides. To take advantage of this offer, simply register your new NOOK by 10/31/2011, and look for an e-mail that lets you choose your free books! (On a side note, two personal favorites, Willa Cather’s My Antonia and Edith Wharton’s The House of Mirth, are on the free book list.)

Leave a Reply

