When Winning First Place Isn’t Enough

Standard

If you, my young readers out there, are writing (and I hope you are) chances are that at some point you’re going to win an award for your work. I can still remember one of the first awards I ever won for writing. It was a statewide poetry contest when I was in the 4th grade.  The winning entries were published in the newspaper at the state capital. Being a packrat, I probably still have the paper certificate somewhere. My writing career had begun!

I’m not going to lie to you. I still like winning – a lot. In fact, when I won first place in the PNWA Literary Contest children’s category last summer it was a night I will always hold close to my heart.

However, the reason I have not been posting more over the past few months is because I have been rewriting that winning story. Why? Two reasons. One, I received some suggestions on how I could make the story more competitive in the marketplace. And two, the judge inside of me knew something was missing from that blue-ribbon piece. I am happy with it now and proud to offer this new story to the world.

As you continue writing and learning I hope that you will enjoy the awards you are sure to receive but also that you will judge your work according to your own blue-ribbon standards. Write on!

Leave a Reply

